We are in control

I posted my A1C’s of the year the other day to keep up with my good work on diabetes. I just would like to get it straight that they might look perfect, but it has taken me a while to get there. I too, have had my “in denial stage” in diabetes. I have been there, wanting to feel like my “normal” friends. I have hated the fact that I have to do so much prep work (clean hands,check blood sugar. count carb.take insulin) just to eat a snack. I hate the fact that diabetes is so unpredictable. Deep down inside I have hated diabetes before. I have even cried many times before about why I have to have this disease. After all the work I have done. I would have to say that I love that I have diabetes! It has honestly made me the person I am today. And you know what? I love the person I am today! I hope so much that me, openly checking my sugar and not giving a hoot that my pump is out in the open for all to see, would inspire another diabetic to be the same. To have control of diabetes and not let it control you. To have hope and to be happy about how far the treatment of diabetes has come! I always know that I might have diabetes but I am not alone. I am part of a big group that no matter what, they understand. If I can get complete control, you can too! And if, in the future, my A1C isn’t where I like it, that’s okay too. I did it before and I can do it again. We can do this. We will do this. And we will win.

ribbon

2 thoughts on “We are in control

Leave a Reply

