creamy coconut oats!

Lately, the mornings have been chilly this week. The weather was putting me into a craving for some super warm oatmeal. Usually, I will cook my oats in water, but today was different. I wanted my oatmeal creamy. I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk (just 3 carbs in a 1 cup serving!) to  boil my oats in. I had to watch and stir my oats because the milk would rise in foam fast. It turned out perfectly creamy like I wanted it to be. I added unsweetened coconut shavings to the mix, with also a little bit of coconut extract. I even topped another spoonful of coconut shavings on top and added a small handful of almonds for some healthy fats. This was the most amazing oatmeal I think I have ever made. It was just what I was wanting. I have a feeling I will be making this oatmeal a lot this week.

IMG_0127

Recipe?

 Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of almond milk
  • 1/2 cup of oats
  • 2 tablespoons of unsweetened coconut shavings
  • 1/2 teaspoon of coconut extract
  • 1 teaspoon of honey (or any sweetener)
  • 2 tablespoons of almonds

Directions:

Place the almond milk in a saucer on high in till it starts to boil. (watch closely) Once boiling turn down heat to low and add the oats  stirring for 12 minutes. Once oats are done, add 1 table spoon of the coconut shavings and the extract and stir. Add one teaspoon of sweetener of choice (I used honey). Top with the remains of the coconut shavings and almonds. Bon Appetite!

Calories –275  Total Fat -11.0g Saturated Fat 0.9  Sodium –183mg Total Carbohydrates -37.0g Dietary Fiber -6.6g Sugars- 6.6g Protein -8.9g

Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

