The Scary Afternoon

Something scary happened yesterday.

Around lunch I was 61, so I didn’t take any insulin for my lunch. It was a 40 carb meal. By the afternoon when I checked , I was 163. I always hate when my blood sugar is over 150 and I hate taking extra insulin to cover a high blood sugar, What do I do then? I did my afternoon exercise to lower my sugar instead of taking extra insulin! After I was nice and sweaty, I came inside to get some water. As I walk over to the kitchen I soon feel light headed like I could’ve passed out. My vision was even going weird. I quickly grabbed a juice box, my pdm, test strips, and finger pricker. I opened the juice box faster then my dog running after a ball (which is amazingly fast) and chugged it down! I checked my sugar and dananana…. I was 44! Yikes!

IMG_4819IMG_9456

This is when I know it is time to say hello to my old friend. Meet Mr. Cgm.

I love my cgm and hate it at the same time. I love how it helps me keep my sugars in check , but I hate wearing it on my stomach. Time to ignore and do the right thing! Get over here  cgm! I attached it to my tummy and taped it up to keep it in place and not going to care if anybody notices it.

IMG_7120IMG_9448

It feels good to have my cgm back on, I am not going to lie.

You may wonder why I don’t wear it 24/7 and truth is, I need to take a break from it every now and then. If I don’t I get overwhelmed. I think it is good to have a vacation away from my cgm. If only I could do that with insulin. I rather not go into dka…

Do you name your insulin pump or cgm?

When I went to this amazing diabetic camp, Camp Sweeney, everybody had a name for their pump. Regardless of age!

Leave a Reply

