Fuel Me

Exercise and diabetes can be a nuisance. I am still trying to figure it out from time to time. A lot of times, I am having to plan my exercise  to what my blood sugar is. Sometimes I wish I could just wake up and work out knowing I won’t be going low or high at all. But, you know what? I can’t change that, I can only own it and work through it!

Lately, I have been finding myself fueling my body with some good ole’ carbs before I work out. Yesterday, I had time to do a morning work out. I heated up a Cliff nutrition bar in the microwave and made a latte, making it a fast breakfast that will sure raise my sugar up and give me energy. Note: I don’t take insulin for breakfast on mornings I can work out. My sugar is usually on the lower side ( 70’s 80’s), so eating a high carb breakfast doesn’t cause me to go over 180. Must you know that I ONLY do this on work out mornings. If I didn’t workout and skipped the insulin, eating 60 carbs would sure raise my sugar up and that is not what I want and is dangerous.

I make sure to check my sugar before I eat, 45 minutes after  eating or before exercise, and after exercise.

Example: Woke up 73 and ate breakfast. 45 minutes later, I was 150. Worked out and was 67.

IMG_0957

I tried the Gingerbread Cliff and it was AMAZING! I am definitely going to get more next week! I also love heating them up in the microwave. It makes it almost like a baked oatmeal cookie!Although, I kind of wish they didn’t put the drizzle of glaze on it.

After getting my sugar up, I made sure to fill a water bottle up with a little bit of orange juice. I do this for me to take tiny sips during exercise in hoping to not go low. I always make sure to keep my diabetic things with me at the work out machine I am on.

IMG_0959IMG_0960

 

I am always low after a work out. I am trying to figure out how to not become low after. I don’t know if it is possible to not, but hopefully one day I will defeat the low!

This routine works even after a snack, lunch, or dinner. It’s so helpful to exercise after a meal because then it is not food you are forced to eat.

It is always a good idea to speak about your exercise routine to your doctor. It is no problem calling them or sending a email. It takes no time at all! (= Do what suits you!

Leave a Reply

