I am Thankful For Insulin

and….FAMILY!

Sorry to neglect blogging but it is that crazy, WONDERFUL time of the year! A favorite of mine. I already started up the holiday music driving my sister up the walls. I really can’t get  enough of this joyful time. I love the elegant Christmas lights and the pine tree smells. I love the family bonding and the comedy Christmas movies (Home Alone and Elf are my favorite!) I can’t forget to love the giving and the wonderful feeling that Christmas brings.

Now enough with the Christmas talk. We can’t forget Thanksgiving like every where else does. Thanksgiving is lovely. The food, family, and insulin dosing. I promise you, insulin is a diabetics best friend on Thanksgiving!  This year we had a 20 ILB turkey! It was ginormous and I had to have one of the huge turkey legs. Thanks to the amazing farm that also was where we got our lovely veggie and fruit basket over the summer!

IMG_1006

IMG_1007 IMG_1005

IMG_1008

We also had regular mashed potatoes, homemade cranberry sauce, pretzel rolls, and wheat yeast rolls. Safe to say I was stuffed……INTILL, we brought the crazy amount of pies out!

IMG_1019

Pies were: My grandmas delicious  chocolate pie with a graham cracker crust, my talented chef brothers homemade apple pie and homemade black bottom pumpkin pie, and my homemade pumpkin pie with a gingersnap crust. There was also some baklava that my sister-in-law brought.

All were terrific!

Thanksgiving is full of carbs and desserts which can drive your blood sugars crazy! That is why checking your blood  sugar a lot is very important to see if you took the right amount of insulin. I even documented my insulin:carbs of that day.

(Important: My insulin to carb ratio will be different to lots. What I take doesn’t matter what to what you take. Everybody is different!)

IMG_1020 IMG_1021IMG_1022IMG_1024

I am kind of a Nazi when it comes to checking my sugar. But, it sure does pay off!

When it comes to the holidays and winter months, us diabetics have to be sure to check our sugars a lot and make sure we are exercising when needed to. Trust me! I know how mouth watering all of the food and TREATS are. If we follow the triangle of checking blood sugars, taking insulin, and exercising we can indulge too! Of course that doesn’t mean pounding food down your throat. Nobody should be doing that! So monitor your self and watch for portions! Portions are the key!

Happy Holidays!

P.S. Just because it isn’t Diabetic Awareness Month doesn’t mean it has to end. Keep people aware and lets try to make being a diabetic easier!

Leave a Reply

